Ideas Flooding in

I think the reason why my mind has been flooding with ideas for this new project despite the fact that I have a deadline is because the “thinking” part of “Wading” has been resolved so from here on it’s all about the physical making of the work.  As a result, my mind has wandered off to this new project which is still quite raw and undeveloped.

Today I felt like my mind was racing all day with different ideas, from both a conceptual perspective and a technical one. I have so many ideas for this new project that I feel like I can’t write them down fast enough. I need to get a very small sketchbook that I can carry around with me everywhere, as it seems like ideas are just emerging throughout the day, and they need to be written down if I’m going to be able to use all of it.

I’m also toying with the idea of some kind of animated projection since the project deals with this idea of continuously falling, as well as different degrees of shaking in the human figure.  A thought I had today was to create an animated piece which was a continuous loop, so that it would be seen more as a drawing that moves, rather than a narrative story which is animated. Part of me feels like introducing animation into my work process feels like a gimmick, and that I should be able to express the falling and shaking in a still drawing.  On the other hand, I’ve been thinking about projections as another way to “layer” in a drawing and perhaps this is the right context for me to explore this idea in.