“Unseen & Unknown”: Opening Reception

The opening reception for my solo exhibition, “Unseen & Unknown” was last Friday night from 5:30-7:30pm at Bromfield Gallery in Boston.  These openings are called “First Fridays”, where on the first Friday of every month all of the galleries at 450 Harrison Ave.  in the SoWa District in Boston hold their opening receptions.  It’s very effective in that from the gallery perspective you get a steady crowd throughout the night, and as a visitor you’re able to see a lot of work all at once.

Unseen & Unknown at Bromfield Gallery

Many friends, current & former colleagues, and several of my current & former students attended the opening, so it was great to have the chance to see everyone in once place. The question I was asked the most frequently was about my materials, drawing surface, and technical process.  For many people the materials and process was elusive and hard to pin down, which I liked.

Unseen & Unknown: Opening Reception

I think one of the best compliments I received was from one of my former colleagues who is a printmaker.  She said that despite the fact that I’m working on drawings, I’m still thinking and working like a printmaker: between the use of the lithographic crayon, the layering of the drawings, and the sense for depth, it all alluded to my mindset as a printmaker for her. I haven’t had the chance to work on prints as much as I’d like to, so it was great to hear that I’m still drawing from my experience as a printmaker.

Installation Views:

Unseen & Unknown at Bromfield Gallery Unseen & Unknown at Bromfield Gallery Unseen & Unknown at Bromfield Gallery Unseen & Unknown at Bromfield Gallery

Opening Reception:

Unseen & Unknown: Opening Reception Unseen & Unknown: Opening Reception Unseen & Unknown: Opening Reception Unseen & Unknown: Opening Reception

One thought on ““Unseen & Unknown”: Opening Reception

Leave a Reply

