Opening reception for “Where Are We?”

This has been a busy week for exhibitions I’m in.  Tonight I attended the opening reception for a four person exhibition, “Where Are We?” at the Chazan Gallery at the Wheeler School.  It was Gallery Night in Providence, so we had a steady stream of people coming through the gallery throughout the night.

Opening for "Where Are We?"

The majority of exhibitions I’ve participated in have been in Boston, so it was a change to show this work in Providence. Since I teach at RISD, I had a great turnout of both current and past RISD  students and RISD colleagues at this opening. It was a nice opportunity for my students to see my work in person; for these crayon drawings in particular, a lot of the surface texture of the drawings gets lost in digital images so it’s a huge difference to see them in person.

Opening for "Where Are We?"

Leave a Reply

