Thoughts on Drawing

The semester is drawing to an end at both RISD and Wellesley College. At the end of the semester, I ask students from both schools to fill out a “Final Self-Critique” form that allows them to take the time to think about and reflect upon their experience in class this semester. The process is an important from both ends:  students are able to articulate what their accomplishments, realizations, and areas to improve, while I’m able to get further insight on their thoughts.

After reading through the self-critique forms, I compile anonymous excerpts from the forms and send them to the class.  Below I’ve listed some excerpts from my Freshman Drawing course at RISD, and my Drawing I course at Wellesley College.   The excerpts have an amazing range of thoughts and opinions:  they’re insightful, intelligent, funny, revealing, engaging, serious, and much more.

If I don’t put it down on paper, I’ll never know what might have happened
with it.

I think this class was about learning how to learn.

I realized that it was impossible to get people understand my drawing when I
myself couldn’t really understand what I was doing.

What may seem like a good idea to me may seem like a bad one to everyone
else.

I’ve learned that there are so many other ways to go. It’s like I was living
in the first dimension unaware of all other possibilities, but now, I know
that there are infinities of infinities that I can explore.

I learned that I still don’t know much about myself.

I’ve learned that I must think about everything I do and the effect it will
have because when I don’t, someone will most definitely notice and comment
on it.

For the first time, I am excited to do work that has a purpose.

I guess I have to lose myself to be able to find myself again.

I find that I am most interested in an assignment if I have an innovative concept.

I think the most valuable habit I gained from this course is almost a new way of viewing the world. Now, nearly everywhere I look I think about how I would approach what I see in a drawing.

I feel that I learned most from the assignments where I made the most mistakes.

I learned how to look at the things around me not as single objects but as a compositional unity.

With each drawing I went through so many emotions, frustration, fear, anger excitement.

I also learned that it will get worse before it gets better.

I feel less of a need to have my drawings look a specific way and instead let them morph into what they can be.


One thought on “Thoughts on Drawing

  1. Wow! Those really ARE interesting comments. I’m learning to draw now and boy, can I understand this comment: “With each drawing I went through so many emotions, frustration, fear, anger, excitement.”

Leave a Reply

