Print Installation Possibilities

Yesterday afternoon I did a test run of my idea for a print installation. Using monotype sketches, I used various prints which were printed on both interfacing and organza to see if this installation idea could actually work. In the image below, I took several 18″ x 24″ monotypes and layered them on top of each other to create varying degrees of tonal contrast and translucency between the layers.  I was pretty excited about some of the visual effects, particularly in the water.  In terms of the figures, I would certainly want to eventually play with shifting the scale of each figure to gain much more in terms of depth. The one aspect that I’m still feeling indecisive about is the rectangular shape of each print which is so apparent.  Does the rectangular shape interfere with the fluidity and flow of the figures and water? Or does it break up the potential monotony of the water passages?

Installation Experiment

Below is another test run where I layered three 46″ x 30″ monotypes. If I continue working at this scale, I’m imagining that the installation could be uup to 20′ long and 8′ high. What I like the best about this format is that I can preserve some of the rich blacks by exposing them between the layers, as seen below.

Installation Experiment

2 thoughts on “Print Installation Possibilities

  1. Hi Clara,

    I enjoyed seeing the work that you have been doing with the layered monotypes. I can begin to understand the water in terms of depth instead of just the surface we are so accustomed to (ripples, reflections etc.), and I’m intrigued by how the water overshadows the figures in terms of emotion and personality. I understand what you are saying about the rectilinear overlaps: they can make your method a bit too transparent and distract from the overall image. I don’t think that changing the format to something more organic would help, it might even be a bigger distraction. I’m curious to see if adjusting your method might soften the outlines. For example, removing any traces of ink from the outermost areas of the images to create more vignetted scenes that would interact more organically. Or getting a very large plate and do a few multi-figure monotypes with the same size of interleaving so that they could be layered without overlapping edges. I think this is an exciting project, and I can’t wait to see what the finished piece looks like.

    best,
    Myles

  2. Hi Myles,
    The vignettes is a great idea, it seems like that approach would strike a good balance and allow the rectangular shapes to immerse themselves into the white of the wall. I’ll have to experiment and see if it works. Thanks for the feedback!

    Clara

Leave a Reply

