Ghost Prints

I had a busy day in the printshop, continuing work on the 46″ x 30″ monotypes on interfacing and organza. Thinking about the installation, I went ahead to work on creating a vignette for each print, to allow the rectangular shape of the print to hopefully lose itself into the wall. Keeping this in mind, I also changed the way I rolled up the plate.  Something about the process of rolling up the plate with this new approach told me that I was on the right track.

Studio View

I started noticing today that the prints on interfacing were starting to become very graphic.  At first I was worried and thinking this would take away from the kind of depth and atmosphere I’m trying to achieve in these images; then it occurred to me that the layering of the various prints would be my method for achieving depth.

Studio View

I’ve been making a concerted effort to tighten up on the water passages and loosen up in the figures.  I’m using photo references for the water, but generally speaking I get impatient with the photograph, so I’ve been spending more time working out of my head lately.

Monotype Ghost Print

(above left) 46″ x 30″ monotype printed on interfacing.
(above right) 46″ x 30″ ghost print, printed on organza.

Monotype Ghost Print

(above left) 46″ x 30″ monotype printed on interfacing.
(above right) 46″ x 30″ ghost print, printed on organza.

One thought on “Ghost Prints

  1. Hi Clara
    really interesting to see pics of your monoprint process, and how your piece is coming together.

    look forward to see how it develops, I’m guessing the interfacing and organza are somewhat transparent?

    evocative theme too.

    I did some paintings years ago about a figure in water, loosely based on the Rusalka myth after seeing a modern interpretation of Dvorjak opera. it’s a motif I’m planning to rework.

Leave a Reply

