13 Monotypes

I worked on three monotypes this morning, making for a total of 13 monotypes so far. I’d like to pull a few more monotypes to finish this cycle of prints, but I think I’m due for a change of pace very soon. I have a very short attention span, and at times working on these quick monotypes makes me feel restless in a way that building a drawing does not. These monotypes only take me about 15-20 minutes, and frequently part of me feels “guilty” that I’m able to finish them so quickly.

Falling Study XI

Falling Study XII

Falling Study XIII

2 thoughts on “13 Monotypes

  1. Clara-

    I find it interesting that we artists often consider the “time to make the piece” such an important (and limiting) factor.

    It is as if all that we bring to the studio obtained through experience and training has no weight.

    These pieces are some of the best I have seen in a long time. There is somthing raw and authentic in them. That means so much more than the measured minutes of the production. In fact, it is likely that they are so good because you did not give your brain time to override your expression.

    ~~julie susanne

Leave a Reply

