Drawing with fingers

Falling Monotype

I started the day off in the printshop, printing what I think are going to be my final three monotypes for a while. These monotypes were a good way for me to jumpstart this project, but I think that I’m ready to move on. Specifically, I have yet to digitize the film shoot I did and I need to sit down and figure out what I’m going to do with that footage. I’ve been working from photographs for these monotypes, and I think the film footage will provide new inspiration and ways of working.

Falling Monotype

I tried some larger drawing sketches today using printmaking ink on sanded sheets of Dura-Lar. My technique in these drawings was to draw and move the ink about entirely with my fingers; it felt primal and raw to work like that. I liked the stiffness of the printmaking ink, and it seemed to work well with the kinds of gestures and movements I was using to draw.  I’m also considering the possibility of layering figures on top of each other, as a potential way to show movement of a single figure.

Drawing Study

Drawing Study

Drawing Study


ART PROF is a free, online educational platform for visual arts for people of all ages and means. artprof.org features video courses, art critiques, an encyclopedia of art supplies, and more.

FB    Youtube    Pinterest     Instagram    Twitter    email    etsy


PORTFOLIO VIDEO CRITIQUES
Prof Lieu offers video critiques on portfolios for students applying to art school and working artists. More info.


ART DARES
Every month, we assign a topic for you to respond to with an artwork. We give out prizes in several categories!  More info.


ASK THE ART PROF was a written column in the Huffington Post from about art related topics. Visit our Pro Development page.

Leave a Reply

