Composition and Directions

I’ve been working this week on creating as many compositional sketches that I can come up with using the gesture drawings I’ve done from the film footage. I had three cameras at the film shoot, and I’ve completed sketches from one of the three cameras, which means I’ve got two rounds of compositional sketches to go. The process involves taking the gesture drawings on tracing paper and physically layering them on top of each other to create a composition. The nice thing about the tracing paper is I can turn it over to the other side to create a reverse image of the same pose. I scan that composition into the computer, print it out, and then draw marks with lithographic crayon which demonstrate the direction of the marks in the drawing.

Compositional Sketch

Compositional Sketch

Leave a Reply

