Cropping

Self-Portrait Study Self-Portrait Study

I worked on the study on the upper right today, it was a “re-do” of the study on the upper left.  The main difference was that the new study has some palette knife work in it, which I think is definitely helping to define the form more clearly.   The palette knife affects my approach in a good way: I have to be much more assertive and confident in my strokes because of the nature of the tool.  I’m realizing that the combination of smearing the etching ink with my hands and the palette knife creates an excellent range of marks, keeping them spontaneous and gestural.

I’m also starting to figure out in my head how I want these self-portraits to evolve.  Right now my thought is to create twenty-five 3′ x 4′ self-portraits.  I’m thinking of using a more closely cropped view, similar to the study below. There’s something about this cropping that makes the portrait feel like it’s overwhelming the composition, creating a more claustrophobic feeling.

Self-Portrait Study

Self-Portrait Study

One thought on “Cropping

  1. “There’s something about this cropping that makes the portrait feel like it’s overwhelming the composition, creating a more claustrophobic feeling.”
    I think your spot on with that. There is an intensity and immediacy that is riveting here, and it rises in concurrence with the cropping and magnification of the image.

Leave a Reply

