Scale

Studio View

I started two self-portrait drawings on 3′ x 4′ sheets of Dura-Lar, which is the size that I think I eventually want to be the final drawings to be. Ideally I would want to have more detailed, high resolution photographs to be working from, but it will have to wait since my next photo session with the model is at the end of the month. So I’m looking at these two large drawings as being “trial runs” to see if the drawings can actually work on this scale. I’m a little concerned about whether the work I do with the exacto knife will translate well on this scale, since the marks are so fine and small.

Today I did the first pass with etching ink, using both a cotton rag and my fingers to smear the ink across the surface. Working on this scale is definitely a different mindset: you have to continually step back to see the image, and the motions that your arm makes are so much broader and bigger.

Studio View

Leave a Reply

