Settling in

Self-Portrait No. 3

A few weeks back I was feeling reticent about the 4′ x 3′ self-portraits.  Looking at the 18″ x 24″ studies I had done earlier, I was concerned that the work I was doing with the exacto knife only translated well in the smaller studies. However, now that I’ve spent more time with these portraits, I’m realizing that it can work, it’s just that my work patterns have to change to adjust to this larger size.

Today I’m struggling with representation, how far to go in terms of detail and when to emphasize gesture more. The portraits I’m working on today are less gestural than I would like them to be, so it may be that I need to take a different approach when I work the etching ink on the surface next time.

Self-Portrait No. 4

Leave a Reply

