Balance and Distance

I’m finding that the most challenging part of these drawings is balancing between the overall sense of the composition and all of the tiny marks and details that the composition is made of. The cross hatched marks that I’m making are so small and thin that I really have to be physically close to the drawing to even be able to see what I’m doing. I have to keep reminding myself to step back and get some distance. I really do have to make a concerted effort to do this; it’s not that I don’t want to, rather it’s because when I’m cross-hatching I get into a rhythm that is disrupted when I step back. It’s a constant balance that I’m well aware of at every stage of the drawing.

I also had to move my workspace this week; I had been working in the drawing studio, but summer classes on campus start out soon so I moved into the painting studio instead. The great thing about my technique and process is that the materials are very simple and portable. I do find though, that with every space there’s a period of adjustment you make to get into the work.

Last week I finished up Self-Portrait No. 7:

Self-Portrait No. 7

Today I finished off Self-Portrait No. 5, while getting started on Self-Portrait No. 9.

Self-Portrait No. 5

Self-Portrait No. 9 (Detail)

Leave a Reply

