Big Shapes

I’m focusing this week on reminding myself to stay focused on the big shapes, and remembering to be assertive and confident about my marks. I think the best analogy I can come up with is practicing oboe; at times I’m not really practicing, I’m just playing mindlessly.  Really practicing takes a different kind of concentration and focus that is much tougher to mentally sustain. With these drawings, it’s easy to fall into the trap of mindlessly cross hatching without really considering the form and the larger shapes.

I finished No. 9 a few days ago, and it’s one of the first pieces that I feel captures an overall gesture alongside strong, concrete details.

Self-Portrait No. 9

I started No. 12 yesterday, with the first pass of etching ink. Now that I have a few drawings under my belt, I wanted to try something different with the composition and scale. The image crops a significant portion of the face, including one of the eyes. Zooming in so dramatically also increases the scale of the facial features so it will be interesting to see how I handle that new scale-with this technique, the larger shapes get the tougher it is to articulate them with the exacto knife.

Self-Portrait No. 12, In Progress

Leave a Reply

