Learning Curve

Although I’m focusing my attention from portrait to portrait, I’m also trying to see the larger scheme of this project at the same time. Already it’s notable that there has been, and will continue to be a learning curve in the project as the drawings evolve.

Today I was trying to “play” more with my marks and to loosen up even more with the etching ink, something I was having trouble doing initially with the first few portraits. Looking at the earlier portraits, the cross-hatching work I was doing felt stiff, so I’m trying to counteract that as well by caring less about where each mark goes, knowing that it’s the collective whole that ultimately matters. I finished Self-Portrait No. 10 today:

Self-Portrait No. 10

And began the etching ink portion of Self-Portrait No. 13:

Self-Portrait No. 13, In Progress

Leave a Reply

