When it rains…

…it pours!  I found out this week that I’m in the progress of working on a book deal to write a book about drawing. Nothing is official yet, but that 30 minute international phone call I got this week felt pretty real.  Being an artist can be an odd, unpredictable set of rhythms.  One moment nothing is happening and now all of this. One of my colleagues who has a very well established career assured me sometime ago that in his experience, there were “years where it was just me making my work, and nothing else happened.”  Between Paul Falcone’s video documentary, the Art New England article, and now this book deal, this has been a pretty terrific month so far.

It’s a wonderful feeling that all of the hard work is really starting to pay off. Of course, now my concern is that the hard work is just beginning. Between the book and my upcoming exhibitions scheduled for the next two years, it’s going to be more busy that it’s ever been, which will pose its new set of challenges. Bring it on!

Leave a Reply

