Reserving judgment

Self-Portrait No. 37

I finished up the final touches on No. 37 this afternoon.  I was excited about the etching ink work I did on the hands, so I had fun articulating the knuckles and skin on the hands with the lithographic crayon and exacto knife.

I consider this piece finished, but I’m going to leave this piece alone for now and reserve my judgment for later. I had initially thought this piece was going to be a re-do, but now I’m not so certain. Anytime I have doubts I always put the piece away for several weeks and revisit it later so I can look at the work more objectively. In this project, I also have to look at this piece in the context of the others to determine whether it fits with the other pieces.

One thought on “Reserving judgment

Leave a Reply

