Form

Self-Portrait No. 37 (detail)

(above) Self-Portrait No. 37 (detail)

I’m just a few steps closer to my goal today. I finished up a redo of No. 37 and finished No. 47. This leaves four more portraits to complete. The closed eyes in the redo of No. 37 were pretty tough because of the amount of wrinkles and detail involved in the forms. I find the only way to really deal with it is the simply to articulate one form after another, while at the same time maintaining a sense of the larger forms to create a cohesive grouping. This is where I find my training in sculpture is especially useful; I think I’m able to deconstruct form and analyze how its structured and put together.  I enjoy looking at the form and trying to figure out what direction the form is moving in, so that the form has some kind of goal and purpose. I ask myself what kind of form I’m looking at: a thin one, a fat one, a stretched one, etc. so that I can characterize each form better. These are the concepts that keep me from getting completely lost in a sea of details and forms.

Self-Portrait No. 37

(above) Self-Portrait No. 37

Self-Portrait No. 47

(above) Self-Portrait No. 47

Leave a Reply

