Woodshop

Studio View

I got a quick tutorial from the sculpture technician here at Wellesley on how to use the bandsaw to cut up the cardboard tubes into strips. Experience in the woodshop is something that I really don’t have, (and wish I did) so it was great to have help from someone who knew what they were doing to figure out the best way to do this. I was a little intimidated by the bandsaw at first just because of the potential danger, but after doing it a few times I got the hang of it and was able to cut up the entire cardboard tube. After a while, it really was quite satisfying!

Studio View

I experimented today with constructing a much more minimal frame using the sliced up pieces of the cardboard tube. The slices are much thicker and stronger than the chipboard, so structurally it’s terrific for this process. I tried to use as few pieces of the cardboard slices as possible, and then placed one layer of shop towels over it. I’ll let it dry and then see where it can go.

Leave a Reply

