Thursday Spotlight: Cheuk See Tang

Tell us about your background.
I am now studying MA Communication Design at Central Saint Martins College of Art and Design in London. I had a bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the University of Hong Kong. Having finished all necessary psychology credits to graduate, I studied abroad at Wellesley College and took art and design classes during my last semester of my undergraduate degree. After Wellesley I went to New York’s Parsons The New School for Design and studied graphic design and animation for one summer before arriving at London.

Name some people, artists, artistic genres, etc. that have been influential in your work.

In terms of graphic design, I am very much influenced by the use of geometry, shape and color in constructivism. I am also a big fan of Japanese minimalistic designs. Currently I am fascinated by the cross boundaries between digital and physical as well as interactive installations and design.

Where and how do you get your ideas?

I keep a list of art and design websites that I browse for inspiration everyday. The RSS function is really useful in terms of receiving up-to-date knowledge about present developments in the field. My concepts and ideas tend to evolve slowly from one form to another and I usually do a lot of experimentation to try out what suits best conceptually as well as aesthetically. I also enjoy randomly walking in a familiar or unfamiliar environment and experience whatever image, sound or smell that comes up to me.

What materials do you work with? Describe your technical processes.

I work in a wide range of media from hand drawn illustrations to wood work to digital print to typography. No matter which medium I choose to work with, it all starts with a concept, followed by experimentation, then evaluation and ends with final production. Unless a specific deadline is set, the process of design experimentation may go on and on and on until I think the best way of communicating the message or concept is achieved.

What do you find to be the most challenging part of being creative? What is the best part of being creative?

As a designer it is important to understand who you are communicating to and then creatively design the best channel of communication. It is the thinking process and experimentation behind creativity that is the most challenging which is at the same time the best part indeed.

What advice would you give to someone seeking advice about being an artist?

More observation, more experimentation and be more openminded.

Cheuk See’s website
Cheuk See on Twitter

Want to be featured on Thursday Spotlight?  Get information on how to submit your work here.

Leave a Reply

