Tension and Compression

Studio Views

I had enough of the major forms established today that I was able to get into some of the smallest details like the teeth and the eyelids which was fun: it’s details like this that are so satisfying to carve into the clay. The modeling process is coming along much faster than I thought,which is nice because I’m starting to see more concrete progress.

I want to work on making the forms on the face feel tighter, with a greater sense of tension.  The stretching of the skin is so dramatic in this particular expression, and I  I feel like at this stage some of the skin forms look too mushy and soft. Clay is inherently mushy and soft so I have to transcend the medium to create forms that have tension and compression in them.

Studio Views

Leave a Reply

