Shims

Studio Views

I finished up the final touches on the surface of this face with a very thin watercolor brush, so I decided to add the shims to the sculpture, in anticipation of starting the moldmaking process next Tuesday. It’s been well over five years since I cast anything, so I’ve spent the past day unearthing all of my supplies and trying to remember every step of the process so that I have all of the materials ready to go. As much as casting is time consuming, I really do enjoy the process, part of me likes the unique challenge that each sculpture presents.  I get very anal retentive about making the most efficient mold possible to create the strongest but thinnest cast that I can make, when it works that is very satisfying.

Studio Views

Leave a Reply

