Distortion

Studio View

I got pretty far on the modeling portion of my second portrait today. Compared to the first portrait I worked on, the forms in this expression are a lot smaller and less three-dimensional, making it more challenging to keep the form active and lively. I kept worrying today that the forms would be too flat looking and therefore make the expression feel too watered down, so I kept thinking of ways that I could suggest a little more distortion into the form. Distortion is never easy, I’m always concerned that I’ll over do it and the portrait will turn into a caricature.   I’m a little intimidated by the tiny forms and wrinkles in the eye lids, so I called it a day and will get to work on those areas first thing tomorrow morning.

 

Leave a Reply

