Struggling

Studio View

I have to admit to myself today that I’m really struggling with this project and where to go.  I feel really shaky, aimless, and frustrated right now.  I have a heavy sense of insecurity about the work that’s making me really anxious and nervous about the work. I’m not enjoying myself with this work and I know it.  I’ve been sitting in my office staring at these two plaster casts that I’ve done so far, wondering where to go with them. Looking at these plaster casts, I know that they’ re just not substantial enough on their own; somehow they have to be transformed into something else, but I don’t know what that is. I worry that they look too traditional and antiquated, two qualities that I strongly want to avoid.

3 thoughts on “Struggling

  1. I can immobilize myself with the kind of thoughts you expressed (I know those feelings far better than I would like to), and there is nothing worse than stopping! Answers always come in a moment of inspiration, and the only way I seem to be able to find that inspiration is to keep my hands busy so my head can’t over-think. I saw an artist who had tacked the phrase, “I will work without fear” in their studio, and I’m thinking about making one for mine.

    Keep working and the answer will come to you.

Leave a Reply

