Opening Molds

Studio View

The silicone rubber cured overnight, so this morning when I came in I was excited to be able to open the molds up. Opening these particular molds was especially challenging; since my piece inside was a plaster cast I couldn’t simply pull the clay out of the mold, which is usually really easy and straightforward.  I ended up needing to break the mother mold in order to get the piece out, which isn’t ideal, but still works: it’s easy to simply super glue the broken pieces of the mother mold together. I’m glad I was able to finish the moldmaking process today:  every piece you cast is completely different and has it’s own set of challenges, and I feel like by completing these two molds I have a better sense of what I would do differently the next time through.

Studio View

Leave a Reply

