Wax experiments

Studio View

I have essentially no experience whatsoever with wax, so I sought out help from the sculpture technician here at Wellesley who has worked with wax extensively at a foundry.   With his technical support and advice, I went ahead and played around with some wax casts today.  The wax I’m using is a victory brown wax mixed with a harder red wax which makes it better for casting.  I also love the fact that if I get any casts I don’t like that I can just toss them back into the wax pot to be used again. Especially compared to plaster, the wax definitely has a translucent surface that is quite seductive and beautiful.

Studio View

Leave a Reply

