An Experiment

I realized today that there was only way I was going to be able to make an informed decision about whether to go with ceramic clay or plastilene:  perform my own “scientific” experiment.  There were too many variables going on, so I needed a constant to anchor me down in my process.  So this morning I remade the face I had been working on in plastilene in ceramic clay. It was obscene how much faster and therefore more fluid the sculpting process was when I worked on the ceramic clay piece. I like working quickly, and the pacing of the ceramic clay seemed to match the speed of my thoughts much better. I was able to sculpt this ceramic clay head in just two hours!  I kept looking back at the plastilene version, as I worked the ceramic clay version and the plastilene version just felt so stiff and static to me.

Studio View

Studio View

Studio View

 

 

One thought on “An Experiment

Leave a Reply

