Busy

Studio View

I love days like this in the studio, when there are so many tasks to do that you don’t even stop to think. I opened the molds, cast, shot photographs, modeled in clay, and poured a layer of rubber. Any day that I get to open the molds is always a great because I get to see the finished product at the end of the day. Sculpture is an incredibly messy process, it’s very gratifying to come out with something polished and smooth when you’re done.

Studio View

The first three casts I made I used Murphy’s oil soap as a release, but the soap left a residue on the surface of the casts that I didn’t like. So I cast more without the release which worked out fine. At the end of the day I noticed that the residue had dried out and disappeared, so it was nice to know that it wasn’t permanent.  I finished up the modeling for the next three heads and poured the first layer of rubber.

Studio View

I shot a ridiculous amount of photographs, and edited them down to these final three images below. It’s crazy the amount of bad photographs I have to shoot in order to get even one image that works for me. Thank goodness for the convenience of digital photography!

Digital Experiment

Digital Experiment

Digital Experiment

3 thoughts on “Busy

  1. I love the choice of concentrated light on each face. Is the initial form an internal image you carve out of plasticine? It’s hard to tell because they are so seemingly real as an image that could have been someone’s real face.

  2. You are so talented. Seeing the process with these faces is interesting! The final result in photo is unique and stunning. Great work!

    I found your blog through the WordPress Blog Team on Etsy. Following!

    -Maranda

Leave a Reply

