Fresh Clay

Studio View

I made mother molds and poured the second layer of rubber today on another round of three faces, which means that on Wednesday I’ll be able to open and cast these molds.  Today I also started another three faces. This time around I wasn’t able to use my strategy of reworking an already modeled face, rather I had to start from scratch with fresh clay. The faces I had been working with had gotten so stiff and hard that it was really not workable any more, so I scrapped the old faces and started anew today. Although reworking the old faces was a huge time saver, nothing beats the feeling of fresh, soft clay in your hands.  You can work very fast and it’s easy to work gesturally because the clay just moves with you.

Studio View

Studio View

Leave a Reply

