Thursday Spotlight: Paul Falcone

Tell us about your background.

My parents were both artists. My father ( Dominic Falcone ) a poet, my mother ( Yvonne Andersen ) a painter. I was nearly born in the Provincetown art gallery they ran because of a snowstorm. My mother got interested in filmaking and animation and incorporated them into the children’s art classes she was already teaching. So I grew up in a very artistic background and I’ve been making movies since I was 6.

Name some people, artists, artistic genres, etc. that have been influential in your work.

It’s hard to narrow down my influences. I’ve always loved fantasy but I can really get into a serious documentary as well. Some of my filmaking heroes would be Joss Whedon, Robert Rodriguez, Christopher Nolan. I’ve always loved comics and once considered becoming a comic artist.

Where and how do you get your ideas?

I just finished editing the feature film “The Final Shift”. For many scenes I was editing the music at the same time as the picture. Often when I am stuck on how to edit a project I will play music that reminds me of what I’m working on, and that will give me a direction. Since I shoot a lot of mini-docs and events I try to stay open to whatever is going on at the location and make use of it. When I interview people I try to keep it conversational and follow things where they want to go. Intuition is a big part of being an artist in any art.

What materials do you work with? Describe your technical process.

My main camera is a Canon 5D mark II. It shoots great video and stills. I edit on Final Cut Pro. I’m very lucky to be living in a time when a low budget filmaker has such professional tools to work with.

What do you find to be the most challenging part of being creative? What is the best part of being creative?

The most challenging part is to finish what I started after the initial enthusiasm has waned. Having assignments helps with that, but I have a bunch of unfinished scripts sitting in my computer. It’s great to be on a roll when your’e working on a project. I sometimes work through the night until I can barely keep my eyes open. That’s when it’s great to have a home office.

What advice would you give to someone seeking advice about being an artist?

My favorite quote is from the screenwriting teacher Syd Field. In referring to writing interesting characters he said “Character is action” meaning don’t have your characters say who they are, have them do what they are. The same is true for life. If you are an artist make art. It’s great and necessary to view other peoples work but you must make it yourself on a continuing basis to grow. I’m also a believer in the ten thousand hour rule. To master any craft you must spend ten thousand hours doing it.

Paul’s videos on blip
Paul’s videos on Youtube
Paul’s documentary on Clara Lieu

Leave a Reply

