Social Networking and Marketing

Final Crit

Now that RISD is in full throttle, my studio schedule has been thrown off quite a bit and I haven’t been able to get into the studio much. I’m teaching two sections of RISD freshman drawing this semester, which is a more than I usually do at RISD. When I have periods like this where I’m not very productive in the studio, I turn to marketing and publicity, as those as tasks that I can do when I have an hour here or there.  As much as I wish it was all about making the work, marketing and getting your work out there is just as essential.

I’ve been on many social networking sites for a while, (Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, Flickr,  Google+) but I’ve been experimenting this week with websites where you can post your portfolio. I have my portfolio on Saatchi online, RISD Portfolios, the Drawing Center Viewing Program, and the Irving Sandler Artists File. My latest experiment is having a portfolio on Deviant Art. I’m well aware that the majority of people on Deviant Art are not professional, but I was interested in the fact that it is a community of millions of people. I’ve been on Deviant Art for about a week now, and I’ve been impressed by the number of comments on my work, many of which have been quite thoughtful.

What do you think?  Are all of these social networking/online portfolios a waste of time, or is this indeed the future?   I’m curious to hear what you think.

Leave a Reply

