Carving

Studio View

When I came in this morning to work on the face above, the clay was so hard that I could not press into it with my fingers. Fortunately, the majority of the forms had already been established, so I was fine limiting myself to carving into the clay instead of adding. This one above is now ready to cast, and I’ve got two more faces to refine before I start another round of casting.

I’ve also been looking a lot at masks, particularly drama masks from Ancient Greece and Ancient Rome. The format of a mask allows for much more theatricality and drama in the facial expression, often times significantly more distorted an exaggerated than a sculpted face which is intended to be read as a real person.

 

Leave a Reply

