Numb

Studio View

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve been having trouble focusing due to the lack of continuity I’m experiencing because of my schedule this semester. Today in the studio was no exception; I found myself starting out the day by procrastinating by tweaking slideshows for my RISD drawing course.  Certainly, that’s a task that is necessary, but I really shouldn’t be spending my precious time in the studio doing that, and I know that. I think the issue is that I feel numb about my work right now, and I’ve been dreading getting started again on another round of clay modeling since finishing three faces last week.   The silly thing is, once I’m actually physically in the studio with my hands on the clay, I feel fine and know what needs to be done.  It’s the starting part that that is such a difficult mental challenge for me right now.

Leave a Reply

