Consistency & Quality

Digital Experiment

I decided this week to try and achieve some consistency and gain higher quality images by reshooting all of my photographs. Over the past few days, I’ve really enjoyed working with the photography, I am feeling closer and more connected to the work as opposed to last week when I was feeling fragmented and disjointed. Upon closer inspection of my earlier photographs, I saw how sloppy many of them were: many were just slightly out of focus, badly framed, etc. I wanted to take this time to really fix all of that, to create images that were crystal clear, and not to settle for less. I shot and shot and shot until I got the results I wanted. It was tedious, but completely worth the results.

One big breakthrough is I got the face above to finally work in a photograph. I had been disappointed when I first shot this face because the best image I had gotten looked flat,(see image below) making me feel like my sculpting in that piece had failed. This new photograph above completely transformed the face into a bolder, more dimensional piece.

Digital Experiment

Everything that I had been doing with photography up until now really was a sketch or a “rehearsal”, so I decided that it was about time that I start doing work that was intended to be more finished and permanent. I’ve started shooting raw images, as opposed to jpegs to ensure that I am getting the highest quality image possible. I want all of the portraits to be the same size, so I am now being more careful about shooting with the right framing so that I don’t need to crop the images later in Photoshop. Also, I’ve firmly decided that I want all of the portraits to have soft lighting from above. Lighting from above was getting the best results in terms of making the relief faces appear more three-dimensional, so it seems to make sense to make lighting consistent throughout the series.

Digital Experiment

Just out of curiosity, I tried shooting compositions with several faces at once. (see image below) I really didn’t like the results at all, the image looks like a still life, and the faces look too objectified.

Digital Experiment

Leave a Reply

