Working at Home

Digital Experiment

I’ve been working every night this week on getting all of the faces reshot, and it feels great.  I feel like I just woke up this week and realized how much better I could have been doing with my photographs and discovered that actually there was a lot more work to be done than I had previously thought.  I like that the photography is something that I can work on at home at night; I don’t have to be in the sculpture studio at Wellesley to be getting things done.  When I was younger I used to really hate working from home because I found it insanely easy to procrastinate and get distracted by doing other things; when I’m in the sculpture studio I have no choice but to focus because there’s literally nothing else to do. At the same time, I sometimes go into a little bit of panic mode in the sculpture studio because I feel like the time I have is so precious and that the time has to be used well.  Working at home now, I can now work at my own leisure because I have plenty of time to do what I need to get done.

I’ve also realized that the photographs that are the most successful are the ones that project the illusion of looking the most like a full three-dimensional head, as opposed to the reliefs that they actually are.  So I”m working hard to “hide” the true nature of their actual sculptural format in the photographs.

Digital Experiment

One thought on “Working at Home

Leave a Reply

