Should I write a book?

For those of you who follow me on my various social media sites, you’ll know that I’ve been writing posts lately on tips concerning “how to be a good art teacher“, “what I’ve learned so far as a visual artist“, and “how to be a good art student“.  To be completely honest, I started writing these posts because I was really bored one night and wanted to do something fun and productive, something that didn’t feel like “work”. One of my former students in response to these blog posts said that I should “seriously” turn these into a book some day.  So naturally being the driven and ambitious person that I am, this got my brain percolating in a great way.  Writing these blog posts has been a lot of fun for me.  I like it because it’s related to my art practice, but it isn’t the same thing as working on my studio work.  It sounds dorky, but I really enjoy verbally explaining things, it helps me figure out and clarify to myself what I want to do and keeps me stimulated about my art practice. I know this would be a really ambitious undertaking and it would probably take me a looooong time before I got it to the high standard I would want it to be at, but it’s something I could work on in slow increments over several years.

One of my favorite books is Michael Pollan’s book “Food Rules”.  I love that this book boils things down to their most distilled, straightforward form, and it has witty statements like “It’s not food if your grandmother wouldn’t know what it was.” It’s also a quick read, something that I find myself rereading for this reason, which drives home the concepts even more. I’m thinking of a manual similar to that, except for visual artists.

What do you think?  What kind of book would you like to see?  What topics would you like to see it cover?  I’d love to hear from you!

food rules book cover

6 thoughts on “Should I write a book?

  1. yes, i would purchase it.

    as an art teacher myself there are a number of sources i use to help my students.
    your comments would be used and credited in a heartbeat.
    your work speaks to the fact that you practice what you preach, not always the way once someone gets out of school.

    i feel we are always learning and i totally love what i learn from my students.

    c l bigelow

    • Thank you! That’s very encouraging. The self conscious part of me thinks to myself “who am I to think I would be an authority on these topics”, so it’s wonderful for me to hear your support.

  2. i believe the self conscious artist / people are to some extent the most innovative and accomplished. self reflection/ self doubt used well creates a constant need to strive and be better at what we do. we do not fall into the ‘good enough’ rut , usually …… you are not alone doubting your authority in an area, hence your right to be considered one.
    schools do not teach that part.

  3. Absolutely yes. Personally I’m tired of seeing books on art and design outlined like manuals, as if there is some formula to follow. I like the idea of supplementing a direct delineation of concepts that have held true in your career with anecdotes; I think that the strength of the blog posts is that they are both strikingly honest and warm.

    • I know, it’s pretty astounding the amount of crap that is out there. The books I’ve seen that claim to talk about how to be creative are so corny and flighty that none of them are practical at all. Thanks so much for your thoughts, I consider it very high praise.

Leave a Reply

