One hour

Studio View

I squeezed in a quick hour in the studio today, not ideal, but I’ll take it.  I’m a firm believer that even one hour can make a difference, and that those scattered hours do add up over time.  I worked into some of the details into the third face.  I think I may have gone a little overboard in terms of the wrinkles in the eyelids, but I would rather exaggerate an area and then tone it down later on.  I’ll take another look tomorrow when I’m looking at the piece with fresh eyes.

In other news, I finished Twyla Tharp’s book “The Creative Habit,” which is embarrassingly one of the few books I’ve read in recent years. I generally have a very low attention span for books, so a book really has to grip me for me to get through it. I really loved her tone of voice, it was conversational, honest, and full of encouragement and a dose of reality at the same time.  It’s also reassuring to hear about creative struggles coming from someone as accomplished as she is. I think frequently a lot of artists don’t like to publicly talk about how incredibly difficult things can be, as they’re so busy trying to make themselves look invincible to everyone else.

 

One thought on “One hour

Leave a Reply

