Persistence

Studio View

I was getting ready to scrap this face above yesterday.  I’m glad I didn’t because I think I ended up resurrecting  the piece during today’s studio session. One of my pet peeves in figurative sculpture is when the form looks too mushy and soft, and lacks tension and structure.  I was starting to feel like this piece was all mush yesterday, and lacked a tightness in some muscles that I was looking for. Today I did some subtle subdivision of certain muscles, especially around the brow and tightened up the muscles in the lip area. I think I saved it!

2 thoughts on “Persistence

  1. as i think i mentioned before i appreciate your postings of the warts and all type. the journey of the process is just as important as the polished finished piece.
    please continue to share the entire process as an invaluable learning tool and pretty darn fascinating.
    i have been steering my students to your site just for that reason.

    c l bigelow

  2. Thanks so much for your comments! I think for me the process is many times even more interesting than the finished product, which is why I go into so much detail in my blog.

Leave a Reply

