Spinning

Ever since I decided to scrap the idea of making digital lambda prints for these sculptures pieces, my head has been spinning in a really good way with possibilities. It’s been really liberating and has opened up a world of different options.  I think I was too attached to the idea of the lambda prints, and it limited me in terms of my thinking.

I’m going to go ahead and do some tests to see what kind of scrim I want to project on, but I’m also brainstorming other formats for this work.  I’m thinking about the possibility of a triptych of scrims, so that there are three faces being projected at the same time.  I’ve also realized that one of the difficulties of projection is that I can’t really work on this in a full fledged manner until I’ve secured an exhibition, where I can tailor the size of the scrim to a specific gallery space.  Looks like I’ll have to work on that too.

Also, I’m going to be in a two person exhibition in March, and I’m going to have some of the physical face sculptures in the show.  In addition to the main gallery space, there is also a smaller gallery connected to the main gallery.  In that gallery, we’ll show pieces from our latest projects. Since beeswax isn’t a permanent substance, I’m going to cast the sculpture faces in white resin and hang them on the wall.

Leave a comment