Connections

hamilton-inst-001

I’ve been making progress researching possibilities for fabrics to project images on.  I talked to the museum preparator at the Davis Museum and he referred me to someone who professionally installs artwork, who then asked someone who works in the event production industry.  I feel lucky that I was able to find this information through a series of connections.

The final recommendation I got for a scrim was Sharkstooth scrim. Someone else also commented in a recent blog post to think about silk, so I researched some more and stumbled upon this piece above by artist Ann Hamilton. I then found this silk fabric that is used for projection as well.

I’m also thinking about what to do with the projection, I made this video a ways back experimenting with fades, but what I don’t like about it is it makes the video seem more like a slideshow, which I really want to avoid.  I’m going to play around and see if I can come up with something that will be more compelling.

One thought on “Connections

  1. for me your posts are most interesting when addressing the nuts and bolts.it truly does take a host of people for each project , from those we know ( a new side to family members and friends) and those we meet along the way while solving a problem. connections is apt.

Leave a Reply

