Process Pieces

Process Piece

I opened up my solid beeswax cast from last week today, and was pleased to discover that the wire I embedded into the beeswax was quite strong.  I then hung it on the wall with a picture hanger, and the piece hung just fine with no structural issues. Next week I’ll experiment with casting some of these in white resin. While the wax is beautiful, it’s not  a permanent material and is susceptible to humidity and heat.  I like the idea of the white resin because it’s permanent.

I consider these casts to be “process pieces”  which demonstrate my process for making the final digital images.  These pieces will go in the smaller gallery in my upcoming two person exhibition in March. I also got a chance to light and photograph No. 32 and No. 33, which you can see below.

Digital Experiment

Digital Experiment

Leave a Reply

