Long Term Goals

Studio View

This week is becoming downright excruciating because of the distractions that I mentioned in yesterday’s post.  The part that is really bothering me is that I can’t do anything about it at this point in time. Generally speaking, I like to be as proactive as possible and to take control of the situation when I can, so when things are completely out of my hands it makes me crazy.

This isn’t the first time I’ve felt this way, (and I’m certain it won’t be the last) so the question is, what do you do in this situation? I’m trying really hard to occupy my mind with other things. I’ve been thinking about a conversation I had with one of my colleagues the other day: he said that it would be important for me to ask myself what I want to be doing over the next ten years. I haven’t ever really thought about my career in those terms before, as generally speaking I’m trying so hard to stay focused and in the present, but it was a really good question to be asking. I’m trying to think more in terms of the “big picture” for my career and where I want to be. Below is a list of some select long term goals I have for myself. Right now these goals seem so completely out of my reach, but that’s why they’re goals, right?

1) Publish my book.

2) Have a solo exhibition in a real, bona fide New York City art gallery.

3) Win a major grant. (think Guggenheim)

4) Get my work into museum collections.

Studio View

Studio View

3 thoughts on “Long Term Goals

Leave a Reply

