Schedule worries

Studio View

I’ve been on such a roll with my “Ask the Art Professor” column and my videos that it was hard to change pace today and get back into my studio work this morning. I haven’t been in the studio for a while so my rhythm felt off and I was definitely having a tough time picking up from where I last left off. My schedule is so complicated that I rarely have the leisure to work on what I happen to feel like working on.  When I get those precious moments when I’m alone in the sculpture studio I have to make the best of it, even if I don’t feel like it. Today was certainly one of those days.

I’m worried because I only have what’s left of March and all of April to work on these face sculptures. Then I may not be able to be back in the sculpture studio again until September because of complications in my schedule. That’s going to be four months away from the studio, which is a bit frightening to me.  I may have to force myself to temporarily switch to a different media that I can do anywhere so I can keep myself creatively satiated during that period. What that might be, I have no idea.

I’ve also been having trouble because I’ve become really impatient recently with my work and how it’s progressing. I’m someone who really likes to see concrete growth and achievement, and lately that just hasn’t been happening. I feel like I invest so much time and effort into the work, and then I end up sending it into this big pit where no one sees or reacts to the work.  Yes, I should take my own advice.  Yes, I should quit whining and remind myself to push on, but that still doesn’t stop me from having these feelings. Amazing how hard it is to take your own advice.

Studio View

2 thoughts on “Schedule worries

  1. i have to smile at your dilemma. you are by no means alone.
    finally learned over the years to have several projects going at the same time. when the frantic pace of prepping for a show subsides there are quieter more contemplative things waiting for me while i regroup and recharge.
    sometimes i find a forced separation from my studio leads to a clearer vision of what direction is next. sometimes i come back frustrated and grumpy and have to ‘piddle about ‘for a day or two getting re-acquainted with the space and contents……………if i find i am futzing about to much i usually go to the woodshop and make panel cradles , fairly mindless, very focusing with the chop saw and at the end of the day i have several cradled panels for later…….
    i think we all have the ‘black hole ‘mind set as regards our work. we tend to forget the successful shows, the positive write ups and sold work, all we see is the ‘stuff’ we had to bring back, unsold ‘failure’. we are all our harshest critics.
    your work is powerful and unique. i find it fascinating and very brave.
    you do not appear to be a flash in the pan , cater to the masses. upside- downside. see above. the audience/ clientele may be smaller but i believe more loyal and solid.
    you will have longevity.

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful response. It’s always so comforting to hear about other artists grappling with the same issues, and hearing how they confronted them. And you’re absolutely right that we are our own toughest critics, I am particularly obsessive about it and tend to fixate on everything I could have done better instead of recognizing what went well. Thanks for your words of support!

Leave a Reply

