A mission statement

I’ve been thinking lately about what exactly it is that I’m trying to do with my book, my series of videos, “Ask the Art Professor”, and my blog in general.  I’ve been trying to figure out exactly what has been driving me to do all of this writing and documentation on top of my studio practice.  From what I’ve experienced, it’s highly unusual for a fine artist to share so much about the highs and lows of their creative process publicly. Most professional fine artists I know tend to be secretive about how they work and don’t publicly display the ugly side of being an artist.  When I go to artist lectures, they’re always about the successes, highlighting only what worked and the awards that were won.  The majority of artists never publicly address the struggles, the blood, sweat and tears that it took to get there.

Essentially I came up with a mission statement for myself.  In addition to my studio practice, I’m trying to demystify and explain the actual process of being a fine artist to a broader audience.  There are so many annoying myths about what it means to be an artist that are just not true:  that you have to get lucky and be talented, that you have to wait for inspiration to strike, that artists are irresponsible, weird, and lazy. The reality is that being an artist is none of those things, and it’s that reality that I’m interested in portraying through my writing and various forms of media.

One thought on “A mission statement

  1. I don’t find video as satisfying as text/photos. Think it’s because it’s so linear. I invariably end up hitting fast forward. First bit of too many videos usually totally skippable “hello I’m X blah blah” and end with banalities, whereas articles get straight into it..

Leave a Reply

