The “Big, Black Pit”

Studio View

This morning in the studio I was able to finish the majority of the modeling on this face above.  I think this expression is an especially odd one, as the mouth appears to be a smile, but the eyes and brow clearly represent emotional strain. It’s one of the more unusual expressions I’ve done recently as it’s not as straightforward as some of the other expressions I’ve done in the past.

Recently I’ve been thinking about what I like to call the “big, black pit” problem that many artists face. I know that I fluctuate between having days when I think everything I’m doing seems meaningful and then days when I feel like everything I make or write is just going into the “big, black pit.”  It’s the “no one sees it, and if they do, nobody cares” worry that haunts many of us.  It’s the feeling that you put your work out there and all you experience are the tumbleweeds rolling by. And as I’ve probably mentioned before, getting no response is worse than a negative response.

Do you experience this?  Do we each have our own “big, black pit?”

Leave a Reply

