Book Illustrations

img193

With the sculpture stage of my 50 sculptures series complete, I am setting that project aside temporarily to work exclusively on self-publishing my book, “Learn, Create, and Teach: A Guide to Building a Creative Life“.  I’ve given myself an August deadline. The idea behind this deadline is so that I can get the book out there while students/faculty are still on vacation, (and have time to read)  with an official launch happening in September when everyone returns to school.

My husband is doing the design work, so over the past few weeks we’ve been working together on fabricating a look for the book. One aspect I had been agonizing over was the use of illustrations and/or images. I really felt that the book needed one or the other to keep the book visually enticing. I finally decided on small line illustrations that would begin each chapter, making for 60 illustrations total. Above is a very rough, quick sketch for one chapter. (why chickens and eggs?  You’ll have to buy the book to find out)

Leave a Reply

