Emotions

MV5BMTkxNjc2NjQwOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDE2NDU2MQ@@._V1_SX214_

I’m experiencing a whole range of emotions with the release of my book. I’m giddy with excitement, and a nervous wreck at the same time. A few weeks back I had posted about feeling nervous about putting my book out there.  Those feelings have only been growing with every book I send out.  It really hit me when I sat down the other day to sign free copies that will be given to my colleagues.  Is this book just really shallow?  Am I just embarrassing myself? It’s very silly, but I played out a whole scenario in my head where I became Jerry McGuire, who was fired from his company for putting his thoughts down on paper.

Today I also received my first review on Amazon, from a reviewer I don’t personally know, which you can read here. It was really interesting and enlightening to read someone else’s perspective on the book.  I’ve been so deeply immersed in the book that I find I really can’t get outside of my own head.

I’m trying to brace myself for the range of reviews that are going to be coming in over the next few weeks. As a visual artist, I’ve had to deal with both positive and negative feedback on my artwork over the years.  I’ve become so accustomed to all sorts of different comments that I rarely let the comments get to me. Somehow though, this feels different. Seeing myself as a writer is a completely new role for me that I’m still getting used to, and it’s a different part of me that’s being critiqued this time.

Leave a Reply

