New studio!

New studio

Today I picked up the keys to my new studio, which is at the Waltham Mills Artist Artists’ Association. I’m thrilled at this new adventure I’m about to embark on.  This is my very first studio space, and I can’t wait to see how this is going to inform and support my work in new ways. It’s definitely going to take some getting used to, I’m imagining it to be like a new pair of shoes that need to be broken into. It’s perfect timing too; my order of the 7′ x 4′ sheets of Dura-lar just arrived the other day so I’m ready to go on these large scale figure drawings.

New studio

New studio

New studio

5 thoughts on “New studio!

  1. Wow! That is one beautiful space. Makes me want to dance a jig. It did make my eyes turn green with envy.

    May all your skills join with your soul to produce the art that tells the world just who you are. I am very excited to see what comes from the new freedom your heart will feel in all this new space. This is your new creative universe.

    Big hugs and congratulations , Linda

    http://www.lindaeichorst@q.com

    “Making art is like praying except you get your fingers dirty.”

    Sent from my iPad

  2. A handsome work place; indeed.

    I remember getting a similar jolt of excitement and energy when I moved into the McGuffey Art Association studios (Charlottesville, Va). I was finally able to work on my large mylar (8’x4′ +/-) and multiple large paper pieces all at once. For me, it proved a crucial time; the space allowed me to sit at the drawing table and think/sketch/plan/design while looking at several large scale works works in progress. It was a wonderful visual and cognitive feedback loop!

    It didn’t hurt either to have fellow artists stopping by one in a while. A very good eight years for my art.

    http://www.johnahancock.com/drawings.html &
    http://www.johnahancock.com/draw-archives.html

    Enjoy the new (the physical and the mental/spiritual) space ….

Leave a Reply

