Excited

Digital sketch

I’m feeling excited about these figure drawings for the first time in a long while.  By going back to sketching and brainstorming, I feel like I breathed new life into this project.  I can’t wait to get into the studio tonight and start attacking these drawings with this new strategy.  Things had been starting to feel stale for a while, and my enthusiasm was diminishing with every studio session. This was alarming to me, and a sure sign that I was due for some big changes.

Experimenting with the compositions in Photoshop has been really wonderful, and I think I’m finally getting the results that I’ve been looking for all this time. My approach with the Photoshop sketches is to play with the scale and orientation of the figure, sometimes in extreme, overly exaggerated ways just to see what happens. I’ve got nothing to lose by doing this, and everything to gain.

Digital sketch

One thought on “Excited

Leave a Reply

