Changes

Studio View

I finished up the first pass of etching ink on the figure above tonight. I intentionally left the legs on the sparse side because I’m going to layer a lot of imagery on top of that area later on.

I did a 24″ x 36″ study of this very same pose back in 2010 when I was just getting started with this series. It’s interesting to see how different the results are, even though I was using the same reference photo for both drawings. You can definitely see how my technique with the etching ink has changed since then. I think my use of the etching ink is more fluid and dimensional than when I began.

Falling Study

2 thoughts on “Changes

  1. ..actually I think the earlier version is more ‘natural’ and evocative of emotion; the new one looks like an actress trying to display an emotion from a script , and it’s definitely what my supervisor would call ‘ a drawing of a photograph rather than a drawing of a person’…
    sorry to be a wet blanket, but ‘only your best friends will tell you’ ! Wish I was on that side of the world to come to your open studio…

Leave a Reply

